Bison, Herb and Root Vegetable Soup ~ Paleo, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Dairy Free

 Why hello you lovely cozy soup. yes you, delicious meaty bison surrounded by sweet and earthy root veggie’s in a warm cozy broth. I really need you in my life right now.

Bison, Herb and Root vegetable soup (1).JPG edit

 I live in Colorado!…. and in Colorado the weather does what ever the hell it wants!

Case in point today the middle of April I wake up to SNOW! snow everywhere in April! what are you thinking weather!

so thank goodness I’ve been a bit lazy and haven’t put any of my winter clothes away yet yay!

On the bright side I happen to like cold weather clothes so i’m quite happy to lounge around in my knit sweaters a little longer.

Along with my affection for knit wear I also love soup! and I have to say that love is not really a strong enough word for how I feel about soup, I think it’s more like a borderline addiction to soup.

Bison, Herb and Root vegetable soup (24).JPG edit

So to go along with the April winter weather I have a super cozy and hearty soup for everyone.

~It’s a Bison Herb and Root Vegetable Soup~

My husband and I love bison almost more than beef, it’s leaner then beef and has twice the iron, also the texture is what I like most it’s more tender, and softer than beef with a less pronounced but satisfying meaty flavor and it pairs well with the sweet, earthy root vegetables that I put in this soup.

You might remember that I promised this recipe in a previous post where I used the parsnips and sweet potatoes in a hash.

Bison, Herb and Root vegetable soup (3).JPG edit

 I like to make big pots of soup so that I can eat off of it for a few days,

I’ll have soup for dinner one day , than soup for lunch the next day, than soup for lunch and a midnight snack the day after that and my husband is lucky if he gets soup two days in a row because I will most likely have already eaten it.

Remember when I mentioned I love soup lol.

Bison, Herb and Root vegetable soup (45).JPG edit

 

 

Bison Herb and Root Vegetable Soup

Ingredients:

 

~For the bison~

2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground Bison

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

 

~For the Aromatics and Vegetables~

6 carrots (peeled and chopped on the bias)

6 stalks celery (rinsed and chopped)

1 medium sweet potato (peeled and chopped into cubes)

2 medium parsnips (peeled and chopped on the bias or in cubes)

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tbsp parsley

 2 bay leaves

1 large sprig of fresh thyme

 

~Add the liquid’s~

2 quarts beef broth 

2-4 cups water (depending on how much broth you would like)

 

Instructions:

In a large heavy duty pot, brown the ground bison in 2 tbsp of olive oil with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder, over medium heat, cook until browned.

Using a spoon transfer the ground meat to a bowl and set aside.

If there isn’t enough fat/oil in the pan add 2 more tbsp oil, add the aromatics & vegetables: carrots, celery, parsnip, sweet potato, salt,pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, parsley, thyme, and bay leaves.

Cook on medium heat stirring often, scraping the bottom of the pot with a wooden spoon, until the vegetables soften slightly, about 6~8 mins.

Add 1 quart of the beef broth to deglaze the pan, scraping the bottom of the pan to get all the yummy bits off, than add the rest of the liquids.

Raise the heat to medium~high and boil until the potato’s and parsnips, are cooked through.

Take out the bay leaves and the thyme sprig, pull the thyme leaves off of the little thyme branches and put them back in to the soup, through out the branches and the bay leaves.

Pour some of this hearty cozy soup in a bowl and enjoy by the fire or wrapped in a fluffy blanket.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bison, Herb and Root Vegetable Soup ~ Paleo, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Dairy Free

  1. Pingback: 23 Paleo Celery Recipes - Your Herbal Health Shop

  2. Pingback: 23 Paleo Celery Recipes | Paleo Grubs

Leave a Reply

