Blood Orange and Coconut Caramel Crepes with Cacao Nibs ~ Paleo, gluten free, grain free, dairy free, nut free

 So I think I have finally figured out what my home decor style is!

I’ve been living in my house now for about 3 years and the style in my house as been kind of eclectic with some cottage accents thrown in.

But what I really would like my house to be is more French country rustic with a bit of English country tea room thrown in.

Check out my diy/home decor board on pinterest for an idea of what french country rustic is.

blood orange crepes (24).JPG edit

Now it makes since in my mind that I would be drawn to these styles, I’m a chef and I love french food and french decor, I am crazy obsessed with tea and tea gardens and cute little cottages, that in my dream world only serve farm to table foods.

So it makes complete sense that I would love to have a house that looks like I live in the french country side of Provence France with a little English rose tea garden in my backyard.

blood orange crepes (30).JPG edit

Now whats more french than crepes! Crepes are a traditional french thin pancake that can be filled with either sweet or savory fillings yum!

I’ve made mine sweet with coconut flour and filled them with blood oranges, coconut caramel and roasted cacao nibs.

A divine combination!

blood orange crepes (58).JPG edit

 

 Coconut Crepes 

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons coconut flour
1 tbsp tapioca starch
4 tbsp coconut cream  (leave a can of full fat coconut milk in the fridge overnight and scoop off the top part, this is coconut cream)
4 large eggs
1 tablespoon ghee, melted over very low heat (or coconut oil)
½ cup coconut milk (or milk of your choice)

 

Instructions: 

Pulse together the coconut flour, tapioca starch, ghee, and coconut cream, in a food processor, until combined.

Then add the eggs and coconut milk and pulse until thoroughly combined.

In a non~stick small 8~inch skillet (I like the bialetti eco-friendly nonstick cookware) on medium heat scoop 1/4 cup of the batter into the skillet and tilt the pan to spread the batter to the edges.

Cook until you start to see small bubbles and then using a silcone or plastic spatula flip the crepe and cook the other side, about 4-5 mins total.

Transfer the crepe to a plate to wait for it’s buddies.

Repeat the process with the remaining batter.

Makes about 7 crepes

Blood Orange Filling

Ingredients:

5 blood oranges 
2~3 tbsp honey
Roasted cacao nibs for garnish (recipe here)
Coconut caramel (recipe here)

 

Filling the crepes:

Cut the tops and bottoms off the 5 blood oranges to expose the dark orange flesh. Stand each orange upright, and cut off the peel making sure to including the pith.

Cut flesh into 1/4-inch rounds, and place them in a bowl drizzle the honey on top of the oranges and gently stir to combine.

Fill each crepe with the orange and honey mixture, drizzle with the coconut caramel, and then sprinkle with the roasted cacao nibs fold or rolls the crepes and enjoy! as dessert or for breakfast with some cacao tea maybe?!

Leave a Reply

