Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato ~ Iced Coffee

I could drink coffee in the morning, afternoon, or even at night!

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (1).JPG edit

and when you add coconut caramel and creamy vanilla almond milk how can anyone say no to that! 

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (30).JPG edit

But I’m a bit picky about my coffee I’m not really a preservatives and artificial flavors type of girl so I stay away from Starbucks and opt to make my own coffee drink at home, which is cheaper, healthier and sssooo amazingly delicious!  

Plus I like to take it to work with me and laugh at the people sitting at the Starbucks drive through as I happily drive past HAHAHAHA!

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (41).JPG edit

The coffee I have been purchasing for the last few years now is from Todd Carmichael’s website lacolombe he also has that show on the travel channel dangerous grounds, which my husband and I really like to watch.

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (44).JPG edit

The thing I really like about his coffee is first you get to watch him go search it out and see where it comes from on his show, places like the Congo, Haiti, Brazil, or Ethiopia.

Also you can read the stories about the different places and people that make the coffee beans on his website.

Second I love that most of his coffee is single origin and he even has some organic sustainable coffee’s now.

Third he posts flavor/cupping notes and information about the soil, region and type of coffee bean,

Similar to the cupping notes of tea or the flavor, aroma, and Terroir notes of wines.

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (51).JPG edit

Just being able to see and read the stories of where your coffee beans come from sends you on a coffee bean tasting adventure of your own.

It makes the journey of the beans and the people growing them seem closer and more meaningful and it creates a bond of appreciation towards the growers for doing such a wonderful job growing the coffee beans.

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (57).JPG edit

Now my husband and I prefer espresso so that’s how I make ours but you can use regular brewed coffee or french pressed as well.

So after I make my husbands grande double espresso double coconut caramel, I then make my tall triple coconut caramel with vanilla almond milk. 

Now we prefer almond milk in ours but coconut milk is just fine too.

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato (64).JPG edit

Dairy Free Paleo Coconut Caramel Macchiato

Serves 2

Ingredients:

Single origin or organic Brewed Coffee or espresso (chilled)  (I like Todd Carmichael’s lacolombe coffee’s from the show dangerous grounds)

2~3 tablespoons coconut caramel (recipe at bottom)

Vanilla Almond milk (I like the Califia farms brand )

Ice

 

Directions:

Fill a glass with ice. Pour in coffee until it’s a little less than 3/4 of the way full.

Pour in almond milk leaving about an inch at the top.

Stir in caramel…enjoy!

 

 

Paleo Salted Coconut Caramel

INGREDIENTS:

1 (14 oz) can full-fat, (not light) coconut milk (I like the native forest brand)
1/2 cup coconut palm sugar
1 Tbsp maple syrup
1-2 vanilla beans scraped of their delicious caviar! or 1 tbsp vanilla extract/flavoring
1/2 teaspoon fleur de sel salt (A French salt perfect for caramel!)

Instruction:

Cut the vanilla beans top to bottom and with a knife scrape the caviar from the beans. (Dont! throw out the beans you can put them in organic sugar to make vanilla sugar or gather them until you have a bunch and add them to gluten free vodka to make vanilla extract!)

Combine the coconut milk, maple syrup, Vanilla bean caviar, and coconut palm sugar in a medium saucepan on the stove top over medium-high heat. Whisk until coconut sugar starts dissolving.

Bring just to a boil, than so it doesn’t boil over turn the heat down to medium and simmer until thickened about 15~20 minutes, whisking frequently so it doesn’t burn.

When done it should be medium to dark amber in color, and reduced to about 1 Cup.

Turn off heat and whisk in the fleur de sel salt.

Cool completely, use immediately in your coffee’s and Store the rest in a glass jar with a lid in the fridge for up to 3 weeks. Like it will even last that long HAHAHA!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

